Purls and Knit

Musings from an Environmental Engineer who tends to be full of knit.

Baby Blanket March 20, 2009

Filed under: Fiber Working,Knitting Projects — knitbee @ 12:53 am

I was asked to make a baby blanket for the same cousin that I made the booties and mittens for.

The pattern I used was a simple dish cloth patter that I just used with size 13 needles and chunky yarn. It is just a garter stitch with a simple increase on the second stitch of each row, with a decrease to make symmetrical on the descending side. I used a yarn over  as my increase  and for the decrease to keep my pattern I used a knit two together-yarn over-knit two together at the beginning of each decrease row.

It turned out super soft and only took about an hour to complete. I decided to make this a “snuggle blanket” instead of a blanket to actually cover up with. I liked this idea for a couple of reasons, first because I ran out of yarn and didnt want to go buy more, secondly, because kids love to carry stuff around and this is pretty portable.

 

One Response to “Baby Blanket”

  1. Heather Says:

    This will be awesome. You know Grant has his “baby turtle” blanket that his aunt made for him when he was a baby. Now the new little bean will have one too! Great Job!!!


Leave a Reply

