Purls and Knit

Musings from an Environmental Engineer who tends to be full of knit.

Shopping Bag April 5, 2009

Filed under: Fiber Working,Knitting Projects — knitbee @ 1:18 am
Tags:

My boyfriends mom loves to crochet and as many of us who work with fibers, she had aquired a bunch of random yarn over the years. She gave me some crazy ribbon yarn, I was not really sure what to do with it either but I decided to practice my knitting in the round before I start my next project. I made this shopping bag to put my fresh fruits and vegetables in so I dont have to use those annoying little green plastic bags that they ahve everywhere in the produce section.

I started by casting on the yarn until it was long enough to work on size 15 circular needles. I didnt really have a pattern I just kind of made it up as I went. I worked a couple inches knitting then I decided to do a couple of rows using a simple lace pattern that I learned.

Lace: K2Tog, Yo, K2Tog, Yo- Repete for rest of row.

I did the lace for three rows and then went back to the regular knit, I did some random increase rows

Increase Row: K3, Yo, K2, Yo- Repeat for rest of row.

I just kept knitting until I ran out of yarn.

When I was done I noticed that my lace rows make some perfect holes to put ribbon through and create a handle.

I was really surprised at how great this little bag worked. I had to make a quick trip to the store today and decided to try it out. I fit an entire bunch of bananas, three apples and two oranges. I still could have fit more in there but I didn’t think that I could eat that much fruit in a few days.

 

2 Responses to “Shopping Bag”

  1. Alex Says:

    Whoa.. look at those awesome pictures.

  2. Sarah Says:

    This is so cute Rachel! What a neat idea.


Leave a Reply

