Purls and Knit

Musings from an Environmental Engineer who tends to be full of knit.

Little Black Bag April 14, 2009

Filed under: Fiber Working,Knitting Projects — knitbee @ 8:32 am
Tags: , ,

I have this really great Christmas projects book and I have wanted to make this bag in it for a while.

The bag pattern is pretty simple. It is pretty much knit a tube on circular needles and then buy a bottom on handles to go with it. I found the handles and bottom online but they were almost $35 and I had already spent that on the yarn for the project. I know, I know, but I am a cheap college student.

I modified the pattern to include handles and a bottom. The pattern is kind of made up but here is my best estimate of what I did.

Supplies:

2.5 Sk MC Cascade 220 Wool (needs to be wool b/c of felting) ( I used Black)

.5 Sk CC Cascade 220 Wool ( I used teal)

Size 5 Double pointed needles (4)

Size 10 Circular needles

Darning Needle or Crochet hook

Bag:

CO 120 St w/ size 10 Circulars

Place marker at beginning and join yarn for working in the round ( instead of turning just go back to the beginning

Place marker in the middle (this was 60 for me) ( use a different color for beginning and middle)

Follow this pattern until desired size is obtained

Knit 20, Work increase rows (see below), Knit 6, Work increase, Knit 4, work increase

Increase: Make 1 in first stich after each marker, Continue until you have passed beginning, Before middle marker M1 do the same for beginning

5 in from the top I worked in two stripes of CC, do so how you want to but use the jogless joining method so your stripes match up

Bottom:

With two strands CO desired width of bag ( I did 30)

Work in garter stitch until the bottom fits your bag (approx 12 in, you will have to fit it as you go)

Straps:

Work an Icord for desired length, I used a single strand on size 5 double pointed needles, I would try a double strand next time.

Attach all pieces using MC and darning needle or crochet hook

Felting:

I did the lazy man felting method of throwing it in a hot washing machine. I washed it with my sheets and tide and baking soda. I dried the piece and checked for the amount of felting, I wanted it to be more felted to I washed my roomies sheets and tried again. That was the right amount.

I strongly recommend knitting a swatch and felting it prior to making your piece so you will be able to approximate the amount of shrinkage.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

