Purls and Knit

Musings from an Environmental Engineer who tends to be full of knit.

Mother’s Day Socks April 21, 2009

Filed under: Fiber Working,Knitting Projects — knitbee @ 9:53 am

Like all of our Mom’s mine deserves a little pampering every once in a while. What is more luxurious than cashmere sock? I got the pattern out of Holiday Knits by Sara Lucas and Allison Isaacs. I used size 5 double ended needles and some cashmere yarn that I got for an embarrassingly good price at a garage sale.

These were my first socks, everybody thinks that socks are harder than they are. I found the pattern to be straight forward and I only had to look up a couple of the abbreviations. The hardest part was creating the gusset which is where you turn the heel, you have to pick up the sides of stitches that you have already knitted which was tricky but I got the hang of it.

Enjoy 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

