Purls and Knit

Musings from an Environmental Engineer who tends to be full of knit.

Florida Vacation August 16, 2009

Filed under: Florida Vacation,Food,Other Sweet Stuff...,Wine — knitbee @ 7:03 pm
Tags:

7/16/2009

We have not done much today. I got up and made a yummy lunch of crab cakes fried in butter and some tequila lime shrimp on lime cilantro rice. Alex cut up a mango to go with it. YUM!

Fresh and Yummy

We decided to go back to the beach today up at Sanibel. The beach was kind of a disappointment. The water was dirty and there was a bunch of algae and other nasty on the beach. We did somehow find a few cool shells.

This afternoon we came back to the house and now we are watching a movie. Pizza for dinner.

7/15/2009

This is our fifth day in Fort Myers. The vacation has been so great so far. We are not the only awesome people who thought that Ft. Myers would be a good vacation. This is where Thomas Edison and Henry Ford were known to winter.

Ford Winter Estate

The Edison & Ford winter estates are a beautifully restored historical location complete with beautiful gardens and three houses furnished in period perfect and original furniture and the winter office and laboratory of Thomas Edison.

Three smart kids

Alex and I are both pretty big nerds and we both got pretty into all the amazing views and architecture. We took a ton of pictures and Alex bought a really cool period replica of a 1893 light bulb.

Sweet tree

We were going to go to a winery but it closed too early so we just drove around the down town of Ft. Myers instead. We decided to walk around for a while  because we were starving. We found this great Italian restaurant  and decided to stay for happy hour with free tapas and a yummy dinner.

I ordered a yummy penne pasta with crab meat and vodka sauce. YUM! Alex got some gnocchi with a red sauce and panchetta…another YUM!

We left happy and full. We came back to the house and bummed around. Another great day of vacation.

7/14/2009

Today has been our best day so far. This morning we went to the beach at Sanibel Island. Sanibel is located a little north of where we had been yesterday. Sanibel is a island accessible by two huge bridges and a toll road. The toll was kind of annoying and we had to pay $2/hr to park but the beach was gorgeous!

There is a light house located on the tip of the island. I had never seen a light house before so I was pretty excited about checking one out. The light house was pretty cool and had quite a bit of history to it, I was kind of bummed that we didn’t get to go up in the light house but it was still pretty.

Sanibel Lighthouse

After we visited the light house we went back to the van and loaded up our beach stuff to head to the beach. Sanibel is know for its great shelling. We decided to follow the trend and look for some shells while we were bumming on the beach. We had bought some goggles when we were at Publix on Tuesday. Alex and I made a pretty good team at shelling. I would shuffle my feet on the bottom of the gulf floor and if I found anything that felt interesting Alex would dive down and pick up what I found.  We found quite a few shells and saw some pretty cool little dudes, I will let Alex tell you all more about that in his guest post.

We have seen some great wild life while we are here. Just as we waded out into the water today there was a family of about 6 dolphins that swam past us jumping up to say hi. This group of playful guys combined with the manatee that we saw yesterday have just been fantastic, not to mention the birds and crabs and fish that we have seen.

Look Dolphins

We came back to the house when it started to storm on an island close to us and had a snack then promptly took a nap. I slept until 5pm and woke up starving to my mom’s phone call. Alex and I  were looking at going to a really cool sushi place while we were here but we found out that the dinner service is really expensive and that they have an all you can eat lunch, we are going to hit that up later.

Tonight, I was torn if we wanted to cook or if we just wanted to go out. I found a fish market that also has a restaurant on it, we headed there. We were pleasantly surprised to find it full of locals and when we pulled up it smelled like yummy seafood and bbq, we made our decision then to eat out.

Yummy Dinner

Skip One Fish Market, gets all of their fish fresh. The seafood is caught the same day it is served so everything tasted fantastic. We started out with some fried alligator tail. YUM! Alligator had a really great taste and texture. I will not hesitate to order it again.

Our waitress was really friendly and did a great job. We both ordered the specials of the night. I ordered the Florida Lobster Tail. I had never had lobster not in soup form and oh it was soooo good! The lobster tail came with butter and lemon, I used penty of both. My lips still smell like butter 🙂 Alex ordered the other special of the night which was a cajun grilled grouper. I got a taste and it was equally yumms. The spices that they used were great and the fish was cooked to perfection. I will for sure recommend that place to my friends and we might go back before we leave.

We have been looking for a good place for key lime pie, everything else at Skip One was amazing so we ordered a piece to share at home. The pie was so good. It was just the right creamy and the crust was crumbly and crunchy. Oh it was so good.

We also bought some shrimp and a couple of crab cakes for tomorrow dinner. We are going to make some lime-cilantro rice to eat with out newly bought seafood. We are very much looking forward to another great day full of fun and good food.

7/13/2009

This morning we finally went to the beach. I dragged Alex out of bed at the early hour of 9:30 am and we make the trek to Lover’s Key Beach inside a Florida state park. We had kayaked around the back side of this beach so we knew where it was and a local lady said that this was a really nice beach.

Lover's Island Beach

We arrived at the beach just before 11 am. The beach was beautiful as promised, and it was not terribly busy. We threw down our bag and spread out our towels and hit the water. The water was great, it is really clear and the perfect temperature.

We waded out to about hip deep water and I was twirling around and pretty much acting like a little kid. I looked out to the horizon and saw this large dark spot moving through the water. Approximately 15 ft away from us this huge blemish continued to move through the water. By this point I was pretty freaked out and ran back and hid behind Alex. We both started backing up toward the beach. The dark spot continued its trek but about 20ft from us it came up and we saw a very manatee looking nose. Once we figured out that the creepy dark spot was a manatee we got really excited because it is not really the season to see them right now.

The manatee was a real privilege to see. It was HUGE! The manatee was about 100 ft from the shore at low tide so it was in fairly shallow water and he seemed to just be trolling along.

Toes in the Sand

We hung out at the beach for a couple of hours when we got tired and hungry, so we came back to the house and had a kashi pizza for lunch. Once we did our normal bumming around for the day we headed over to this really nice outlet mall and did some shopping.The mall was huge and I am pretty sure that we walked the entire thing. I was pretty sure that my legs were going to fall off by the time we were done so we came back to the house for dinner.

I made some steak and mushroom pasta for dinner. It was really yummy, we paired it with a light Merlot that had semi-full body with lots of floral and fruity undertones.

Steak Pasta

The day was really fun and we are heading to the beach and to a light house tomorrow.

7/12/2009

Post 2

It rained all afternoon so Alex and I just bummed around and watched TV. I took a nap, the rain made me sleep so well. It stopped raining and the weather became beautiful. We got lazy and decided to go out to dinner instead of cooking the steak we were going to grill. We found this great open air restaurant just outside of Lover’s Key State Park.

The food was good. I had a crab cake burger, which is just a crab cake on a bun with a tomato and an onion. The crab was fresh and in large lumps…YUM! Alex had a shrimp po’boy sandwich, I tried it and it was also good. The shrimp was breaded and had a tasty garlic creamy sauce on it. The restaurant was really good and had affordable options, the open air atmosphere was welcome because the day was so nice after the rain. We saw a dolphin and a cruel pelican what was just swishing this fish around in his mouth.

After dinner we tried to go walk on the beach but it was really wet (from the rain, not from the ocean,Yes I know that there is usually water on the beach), so we decided to come back tomorrow. After being rejected by the beach we drove down the road to a nice shopping area. We checked out all the expensive stores that we can’t afford to buy anything in and then drove by a cool wine bar called “the grape”. I really wanted to stop and have wine and dessert, or just wine for dessert, but Alex is an old man and decided that we should just come back to the house and drink what beverage that we had here.

When we got back to the house we cleaned up the house a little, did a load of laundry and ran the dishwasher. I popped open a Raspberry Woodchuck. It was really good. I am going to try to have my local liquor store order some when I get back to Rolla.

Today was really fun and tomorrow we are heading to the beach so it will be even better.

Post 1

Kayak tour was really interesting. Alex and I are probably going to have to bum around for the rest of the day to make up for all the paddling we did today.

We arrived at “New Pass” just down from Lover’s Key State Park and met our guide, Connie. We booked our kayak tour through a small company GAEA Guides, we did the two hour tour through the mangrove estuary.

We unloaded our kayaks and met a cool couple of optometrists from Manchester, England (David and Rhoda, I think those were their names). The five of us set out and paddled around  the estuary.

Our guide was great about pointing out all different types of birds and even had cool history facts about the little dudes. The prettiest bird that we saw was the Roseate Spoonbill, it is mostly white with almost fuchsia highlights. Connie told us that these are really rare and that we were lucky to see so many of them. We also saw all sorts of pelicans, gulls, sanderlings, and Ibis.

The mangroves were really cool to see for myself. We had talked about them in my ecology class, so it was really interesting to see all three types of mangrove trees in one place. We got some great pictures but they are on a little waterproof disposable camera so I will have to upload those later.

Today has been great so far, we are pretty tired trying to get used to the time change and the flight yesterday. I think that we plan to nap and then make some steak for dinner.

7/11/2009

I AM BLOGGING FROM FLORIDA! I am a slight bit excited to be on vacation. Alex and I flew out of St.L this morning at 11:25 AM. We arrived in FL at 3:00PM…there is a time change so we lost an hour today. Trip is great thus far with nothing of promises of getting better.

The flight was a little ridiculous. It was almost like riding in a mobile day care. There were seriously fifteen children screaming the entire two hour flight. On a better note I got to read quite a bit of my book, “The Friday Night Knitting Club” and I worked quite a bit on my cross stitch scarf. We did arrive safe and sound in Florida and the approach to Ft. Myers was really great. It was awesome to see all the islands from the air.

We touched down and took a taxi to my aunt and uncles vacation home. The house is fantastic! This house is a nice sized three bedroom two bath that my aunt has done a great job of furnishing. It is beautiful and I hope that my first house is half as nice.

We went to the grocery store to get some food for the week. We got a ton of yummy citrus that was grown locally and we also got some shrimp that was caught in the gulf. I am so jealous of the grocery stores here, there is so much that looks amazing.

Alex and I spent most of the evening just chilling. We watched “My Fair Lady” while I made dinner. Alex and I cleaned the shrimp and I made shrimp destin. Dinner was really good and we did an awesome job of pairing wine with our meal, if I do say so myself. We stole some of the oreo icecream that was in the fridge for dessert.

I could not ask for a better start to what is going to be a great vacation. Tomorrow we are doing our kayak tour so you can look forward to reading all about it.

7/6/2009

We are officially doing the kayak tour on Wednesday. I made the reservations yesterday. We are getting really excited to have our little get away. I am thinking about buying a new camera, not just for the trip but also because I need a new one. I guess that I will have to wait and see until I can make it to go shopping.

7/4/2009

This is where we are going!

florida map

Alex and I are taking a vacation to Florida next week. We are going to my aunt and uncle’s summer house in Ft. Myers, FL. We are really excited to leave and have a get away. I plan on keeping you all updated about the daily events and I can justify blogging about my trip on this blog because I plan to visit some local yarn stores and also visit a winery. We have not really planned a whole lot for the trip mostly just bumming around on the beach.

The one thing that we have planned is to do a kayak tour of the estuary at Ft. Myers. We are both really excited about that.

We are leaving Tuesday the 11th of August and getting back the 18th. We will spend an entire week in Florida! This is my first real vacation. My family has gone to Port Aransas, TX a couple times with some family friends. Besides that I have not really been anywhere not going to church camp. Alex, has been everywhere but we have never traveled together. We might hate each other by the time we get back, who knows?

I thought that it would be cool to go to some local yarn stores and get some yarn from the area to make a project to remember our trip. Right now I am thinking about a felted basket with waves on it. I also, plan to make something for my aunt as a thank you gift for letting us use their house and minivan for a week.  Let me know if you have any ideas.

I will keep you updated for any new developments about the trip.

 

Leave a Reply

